Woo! It's been awhile since I last blogged but I'm happy to announce a few progress in the education systems that I've recently observed.

First of all, my sincere applause to the University of Toronto for introducing its new journalism program. This excites me because this program will not have homework, exams, or marks. 

What you ask?

Yes that's right. Students will learn simply by pitching real stories to established newspapers and outlets. By getting their name out there, the reward is in itself. 

It's currently being tested, but so far the results and feedback has been positive. T

This sort of progress in a large established university gives me hope because if this becomes successful, all the others will follow and soon enough students all over North America will be able to get their hands dirty and gain real valuable experience.

Classrooms are a breeding ground for neurosis, but it doesn't have to be that way.



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Part-time professor, full-time disruptioner of the current education system.

    Archives

    July 2012

    Categories

    All